Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation

NOTICE

Nomination Process Revised for Hall of Fame

The Board of Directors for the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation has revised the nomination process to be open year-around with inductees selected each year based on nominations filed by June 1 of that year. According to Chuck Smith of Edmond, chairman of the sponsoring foundation, the Hall of Fame Foundation annually recognizes up to six individuals who have made significant contributions to Oklahoma local government.

Hall of Fame inductees must serve or have served as an elected, paid professional or appointed official of an Oklahoma city, town, or public trust; or in an organization that pursues the advancement of municipal government. According to Smith, significant contributions to Oklahoma local government beyond their own organization, through a spirit of positive public service with unquestioned ethics, are the primary considerations in selection of inductees.

The 2016 induction ceremony will be September 15 at the Cox Convention Center in Oklahoma City.

The required nomination form is available on-line at <u>www.okcityandtownofficials.org</u> (under the "NOMINATION INFORMATION" tab) or from Foundation Secretary Deborah Miner-Gonzales, who may be contacted at <u>deborah@meso.org</u>.

Forty-nine officials have been inducted into the hall of fame since the first ceremony in 2001. Prior inductees by communities where they resided when inducted are:

Ada- Charles E. Spencer
Bixby- Joe Williams
Braman- Jerry Johnston
Broken Arrow- James C. Reynolds
Chickasha- Robert J. Hicks and Larry Shelton
Clinton- Glendenne Goucher
Duncan- Eugene Brown
Edmond- Don Bown, Charles Lamb, William A. Moyer, Donald C. Rider, Carl Reherman, James G. Hamill and Cindy Shattuck
El Reno- Tony Rivera
Frederick – Wanda Jo Evaige and Robert Johnston
Guymon- Jessie Nelson
Hobart- Thomas Talley

Jenks- V. R. (Randy) Ewing Midwest City- Tommy Melton Norman- David Morgan and Anthony Francisco Oklahoma City- Patience Sewell Latting, Leon E. Nelson, Gary Marrs, James D. Couch and Zach Taylor, Jr., Stephen Reel, Gerald Wilkins Ponca City- Gary Martin Prague- Harold Pumford Sand Springs- Mike Burdge Santa Fe, NM- Shane Woolbright Seminole- Edward Smith Shawnee- Terry Powell, Bertha Ann Young, Mary Ann Karns Stillwater- Ernest R. Dirks, Lawrence Lee Gish and Lawrence (Larry) Hansen The Village- Stanley Alexander Tulsa- Robert LaFortune and Susan Savage Walters- Albert (Buddy) Veltema Watonga- Leroy Lage Weatherford- Tony Davenport and George Wilkinson

The Hall of Fame Foundation was organized in 1999 and is supported by the Oklahoma Municipal League; City Management Association of Oklahoma; Oklahoma Municipal Clerks, Treasurers and Finance Officials Association; Oklahoma Municipal Assurance Group; Mayors Council of Oklahoma, Oklahoma Municipal Retirement Fund, Municipal Electric Systems of Oklahoma and Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority.